Fall Lessons

Leave a comment

November 7, 2014 by randalldeanscott


what a beautiful time of year
everything is dead

the end is full of color and
yet everything is alive and dripping
washed clean and

embarking upon a cold dry blue

much like my gaze upon the cityscape of Portland

the weather this time of year
teaches me something
especially when the sun sneaks out
it’s like a stolen glimpse of Spring
the brilliant backdrop of light
like a big white canvass giving surface
to the city of roses
a color red like no other

the climate in the Pacific Northwest
helps me remember
our tall green friends who thrive here
the reds, oranges, yellows
many shades of green and I’m forced to reckon and
welcome my evolving

I’m to honor those who choose the new
but also to cut ties with people who

hold too close the skeletons of yesterday
I learn to let go little by little
finally catching my breath like I do
when coming back to life after a panic attack

in the blue-green mist of doom always

hides a ball of sunshine that could pop

at any moment and this is why I try

to pay close attention to everything
instead of wallowing in my self-made

cesspool of humanity’s bullshit

the old must die so that the new
can be born

Copyright © 2014 – Bobby Travis – All Rights Reserved

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog Stats

  • 31,014 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 808 other subscribers

Archives