portland posers

9

September 11, 2014 by randalldeanscott


it’s discouraging
Portland
so many crybabies

oh I can’t eat that
I’m vegetarian
I have a gluten allergy
just like all my friends

notice how I framed that
there are legitimate cases
but the rest of you

you’re delusional and
the audacity to judge others because
their diets aren’t like yours

it’s discouraging
Portland
too many too-cool for school
types who give shit about
being too cool or not cool enough
saying shit like

I was doing that before
that got cool

suddenly everyone’s an artist
musician, cyclist, skater
foodie or what the fuck ever and
daily they’re trying to outdo each other
rather than show support to
those who go hungry for their talents or
who simply find happiness with what they’re doing
you naysaying fucks criticizing artists
because you don’t identify with their magic
simply because you want to be assholes
probably because you didn’t think of it first

you don’t want to keep Portland weird
you’re a bunch of narcissistic fascist pricks
too pretentious to encourage fellow artists
you’re pathetic and insecure

but the kick in the nuts
is your targeted anger
hatred even
the way you single out people who
don’t fit within your narrow parameters
the make-it-up-as-you-go standards
with ever changing rules
some you don’t even hold yourself to

you throw words like you’re in combat
you talk about and stand up for freedoms
holding up your little picket signs
yet you oppress the very community
you falsely defend
wherein we should all experience equality
a land where shit once rolled quirky and
everybody loved it and when there was anyone
who didn’t dig the Portland ways
then they went peacefully
on their merry way
shrugging it off as being a Portland thing

you hipsters nowadays
in particular
are destroying the very essence of the Portland
we’ve all come to love and
eventually your poison will choke out
all that is sacred and become
a city of turds
only claiming to smell like roses
just as most of you think
your shit does but you’re nothing but posers

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright © 2014 – Bobby Travis – All Rights Reserved

9 thoughts on “portland posers

  1. Kary says:

    It’s a good rant, but it sounds bitter, instead of freeing. Just sayin’

    Like

    • I’m not bitter. I make observations. I’ve received such treatment first hand. I’ve had friends treated the same way. Yes, I shrug it off. That said, it isn’t my job to free those who hold others captive. No offense but you sound like many of the people I’m talking about… a passive approach to everything–walking about saying “oh it’s cool man it’s totally cool. Because few people in Portland have the balls to face conflict. Passive aggressive capital of the world. Keep in mind that this is my opinion and nothing more. You don’t have to agree. I’d probably grow bored if everyone agreed with me.

      Just sayin’

      Like

    • Let me see if I’ve got this right, Kary. You come to my blog, read my poem, and then post your opinion. One that I’m open to receiving.

      Then I respond with mine and you remove me from all your social networking sites. You’re quite the well-rounded individual aren’t you?

      Quick to state your mind but also quick to shut it when someone says something you don’t like or agree with? You’re a pathetic piece of work.

      No harm done. Good luck with the writing.

      Like

  2. “The Last Resort” – Call someplace paradise, kiss it good-bye …

    Like

    • I’m not catching the reference. Educate me. I would Google it but I’m on my phone. That’s just a pain in my ass.

      Like

      • From the album Hotel California . Teh song The Last Resort, they coin the phrase – call someplace paradise, kiss it goodbye – also – where the pretty people play, hunger for power.
        The sad thing about your reflection on Portland, is that people gravitate to places like that because they want to be the way they hear it is, but each one that comes dilutes the coffee. I think thats why the Europeans have Cafe Americana …

        Like

      • Ohhhhh, yes, I’m with ya now.

        You’re right. The coffee gets diluted. Good friend of mine kept telling me in college that Portland was the city for me. Just a few years later, I finally got here, and I know what he means–why he thought that. The garden is still here but it’s been overrun with weeds. The gardeners need to get off their assess and do some plucking. Set the standard and the weeds will uproot on their own. They will stand out when the false norm is exposed. Then they will run like the cowards they are.

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog Stats

  • 31,014 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 808 other subscribers

Archives