Dry is Plenty Enough for Me

1

March 27, 2012 by randalldeanscott


It’s ironic to me
how from eight to five
on the rare occasion
when the sun shines
I step out from behind
the cubical walls
my corporate prison
I swing the door open
inhale the fresh air
the scent somehow
wrong and
then I see freedom
only steps away but
the yellow and
golden ball dissolving
as the light blue skies
turn a dark blue-gray and
I of course
leave my hoody at home
hanging there on
the wooden rod
by the front door so
the next time I need it
won’t be too far
from convenient
see some bitch along the way
said I couldn’t be
“Portland” when walking
around with an umbrella
so I don’t have one of those and
now as I’m getting wet
I think, well shit
I’m not sure I care much
if I’m “Portland” or not
don’t get me wrong
Portland is a wonderful place
but dying of pneumonia
was never part of my plan
when moving to this
fine city of roses but more ironic
I know exactly
what would happen
if I did own an umbrella
I’ve owned three
during the year of living here
all of them dying
exactly the same

gutted and inverted by
wind gusts

what a terrible way to go

pneumonia

I did, however, enjoy
the first few days of spring
despite the ice and snow
on the official first day of
the season

I’m thinking
next pay day I’ll
buy an bottle of Jameson
whiskey and an
umbrella as I don’t
need to be “Portland”

dry and in it
is plenty enough for me

Copyright © 2012 – Bobby Travis – All Rights Reserved

One thought on “Dry is Plenty Enough for Me

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog Stats

  • 31,012 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 808 other subscribers

Archives